General

Hey, where did the rest of your domain name go?

For the faithful and observant, you noticed that when the page loaded, the domain got a lot shorter. I had been using the absolutely, 100%, not paying for anything, free Wordpress.com to host my blog. Upside-free. Downside-subdomain: www.jeffsuever.wordpress.com. A little cumbersome, but not nearly as bad as Live Spaces.
I finally broke down and paid for a domain name and mapping. Still using the free version of WordPress though. Haven’t moved to the self-hosted WordPress.org yet. In the future I may as there are a few features I would like to incorporate. When I finally stay consistently above that “1,500 unique and returning visitors” per day average, I’ll pop for the $5/month a host will cost me. For now I’ll just stick to the free version and keep working on content.

Your RSS feeds and bookmarks should still be fine…but you might want to update ’em just to be sure.

One thought on “Hey, where did the rest of your domain name go?

Leave a Reply

