Ministry / Time management

Find something you like to do

I have been extremely blessed the last few weeks to have had a very small part in a very large project. My part wasn’t all that important or difficult, but it gave me the opportunity to push myself and be part of a team. One I would not otherwise get to be so involved with.
Here’s what I learned:

  • While I like to be in bed by 10:00-10:30 (because I get up at 5:00), if sufficiently stimulated, I can still crank way into the night.
  • Cranking way into the night has its liabilities now that I am older.
  • Compensating for said liabilities means changing screen resolution.
  • Caffeine is not the best stimulant, enjoying what you are doing is.

There are a lot of other bullet points I could make, but it really all boils down to finding something you like to do and hammer it. Apart from your regular job. Sure, many of us are fortunate to actually like what we do all day. Some are even manic enough to pop out of bed like a toaster pastry saying “Whoo Boy, I GET to go to work today!”. That doesn’t count. What I am talking about is outside of work. Because by pushing yourself in a productive way outside of work, makes some of those difficult tasks at work seem much more manageable.
Hobbies don’t cut it. Because at the end of the day, a hobby is something you do for yourself. Which means it probably doesn’t matter or bring value to anyone else.
I think maybe this is why Jesus was so big on service. Because not only is it taking care of the needs of others, it is hitting a part of your soul that really needs tending.

So, find something you like to do, that you really enjoy, that has you operating in that “sweet spot”, to where time becomes completely irrelevant. Something that brings lasting value to others, and run with it for all it is worth. Even if it is only for a little while. You just might learn something about yourself.

WordPress Tags: productivity,team

Leave a comment